Symphony No. 1 (Cesarini)

From Wind Repertory Project
Franco Cesarini

Franco Cesarini

Subtitle: The Archangels

This work bears the designation Opus 50.

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 31:20
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Mitropa Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €562.00   |   Score Only (print) - €106.00


1. Gabriel, the Messenger of Light – 7:35
2. Raphael, the Guide of Souls – 9:45
3. Michael, the Prince of the Heavenly Host – 7:00
4. Uriel, the Time Keeper – 7:00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Swiss composer Franco Cesarini has waited a long time to write his first symphony and after years of considering and drafting, this Archangels Symphony, Symphony nr. 1 is a vast composition consisting of highly dramatic language, intense thematic developments and frequent polyphonic elaborations. The thematic material is taken from old Gregorian melodies that form the basis for the entire work, which is, despite the title, a non-programmatic work.

It consists out of four movements: Gabriel, the gentle archangel; the supreme healer Raphael; the energetic archangel Michael, the Prince of the heavenly host; and surprisingly the archangel Urile, the ‘forgotten’ archangel. A true masterpiece and a fantastic musical challenge.

- Program Note from publisher

The Archangels Symphony is a vast composition with a highly dramatic language, intense thematic developments and frequent polyphonic elaborations. The thematic material is taken from old Gregorian melodies that form the basis for the work. Despite the titles, this composition has no direct literary references and should thus be considered as pure music, without any specific programme.

Many ancient religions speak of spiritual beings who play the role of divine messengers. In more recent times, angels are figures common to the three great monotheistic religions (Judaism, Christianity, and Islam).

The first movement is dedicated to the Archangel Gabriel, the Messenger of God. The gentle angel, who announces the birth of Jesus Christ to the Virgin Mary, at times becomes a pierce warrior, as when launching the attack against the Rebel Angels. The two sides to this angel’s personality are reflected in the impetuous character portrayed in the first theme and in the gentle and pastoral character in the second.

The second movement deals with the Archangel Raphael. Known as the Supreme Healer, this is the angel who heals the minds, spirits, and bodies of mankind. He traditionally has various other roles, such as that of guiding souls in the afterlife.

There are many exciting and fantastic legends concerning the Archangel Michael, the Prince of the Heavenly Host. The powerful and energetic music in the third movement portrays the combative nature of this archangel, who is celebrated for having triumphed over Satan’s hordes.

The final movement is dedicated to Uriel, the forgotten archangel. Indeed, his name is not included among the angels currently officially honoured by the Catholic Church, although he had been honoured up until 1545, when the Council of Trent decided to remove the Fourth Book of Ezra (containing mentions of the Archangel Uriel) from the list of sacred texts. As a result of this elimination of the only sacred text in which he was mentioned, the Archangel Uriel has been almost entirely forgotten. Nevertheless, he can still be seen in many frescoes painted prior to the Council of Trent and is often represented in his roles as governor of the lights in the firmament of Heaven and the guardian angel of time.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Southern Mississippi (Hattiesburg) Symphonic Winds (Colin McKenzie, conductor) - 16 November 2021
  • Banda Sinfónica de la Provincia de Córdoba (Argentina) (Miguel Etchegoncelay, conductor) - 9 September 2017
  • Strasbourg Conservatory of Music (Strasbourg, France) (Miguel Etchegoncelay, conductor) - 17 June 2017
  • Civica Filarmonica di Lugano (Italy) (Franco Cesarini, conductor) – 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer