Symphony LIII

From Wind Repertory Project
Alan Hovhaness

Alan Hovhaness

This work bears the designation Opus 377.

General Info

Year: 1983
Duration: c.13:40
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Fujihara
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


1. Maestoso sostenuto – 8:45
2. Moderator sostenuto con molta espressione – 5:05


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
English Horn
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Glockenspiel
  • Tam-tam
  • Vibraphones (2)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The two-movement wind band symphony Star Dawn was composed in 1983, and takes its title from a phrase by Dante. Hovhaness must have read Dante at an early age, for the solo clarinet melody in the first movement is taken (note for note) from an unpublished 1933 piano miniature itself entitled Star Dawn -- thus 50 years on the composer must have still had that piece (or its title) in his head, or else accidentally re-discovered the manuscript.

In this work evoking space travel, bells symbolize the stars, flowing melodies a sense of journey, and chorales symbolize mankind.

The first movement describes a journey from Earth, the second mankind's arrival at a distant planet. The first movement contains a noteworthy chromatic vibraphone passage of some length. The work's 'symphonic' credentials, however, are somewhat questionable, with a second movement clocking in at a mere four minutes (the first movement is nine minutes). Indeed, the work was originally cast in three movements, but one was discarded.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer