Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony I (Syler)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
James Syler

James Syler

Subtitle: Blue. For Soprano, Chorus and Wind Ensemble

General Info

Year: 1999
Duration: c. 35:00
Difficulty: V+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: James Syler
Cost: Score and Parts (print) – Rental ($500.00)   |   Score Only (print) - $75.00


1. Impending Blue – 7:45
2. Dark Blue – 3:45
3. Fading Blue – 4:25
4. Still Point Blue – 5:05
5. True Blue – 9:20


Full Score
Solo Soprano
Flute I-II (I doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Tuba I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV , including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Field Drum
  • Gong
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Rainstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This oratorio-like choral symphony in five movements for solo soprano, SATB chorus and wind ensemble based on a text by the composer. The text is a free-verse lyrical narrative rooted in the notion of the loss of hope and the process of reconnecting with it. The music is in five movements held together by a chiastic descending arch form that descends in the first two movements to reach its nadir in the third movement and then ascends in the final two movements to its conclusion.

The work was completed in 1999 and commissioned by a consortium of 42 universities.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • California State University Long Beach Wind Ensemble (John Carnahan, conductor; chorus) and Murray (Ky.) State University Wind Ensemble (Dennis Johnson, conductor – 19 October 1999 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • James Syler website Accessed 25 February 2023
  • Syler, J. (1999). Symphony No. 1 "Blue": For Wind Ensemble, Chorus and Soprano [score]. Ballerbach: Boca Raton, Fla.