Symphony I (Boysen)

From Wind Repertory Project
Andrew Boysen, Jr.

Andrew Boysen, Jr.

General Info

Year: 1997
Duration: c. 17:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Andrew Boysen, Jr.
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $200.00   |   Score Only (print) - $60.00


1. Fast and Brilliant – 7:40
2. Slow and Plaintive – 3:55
3. Fast and Aggressive – 5:15


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
String Bass
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Brake Drum
  • Castanets
  • Chimes
  • Crotales
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimbas (2)
  • Ratchet
  • Slapstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (5; 3 medium, 2 small)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Toms (4)
  • Triangles (2)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

My Symphony No. 1 is set in three movements, fast-slow-fast, with each movement using traditional formal structures. The first movement is in sonata allegro form. The pitch material for each theme is comprised of a hexachord, and the two hexachords taken together present all twelve pitches of the chromatic scale. These two sets of pitches form the basis for the pitch material throughout the piece.

The second movement is a sort of chaconne, with a long, plaintive melodic line that is repeated six times over an increasingly complex accompaniment. The third movement is a rondo that includes two main ideas. These two ideas are contrasted by a section in which the bass line creates a repeating pattern using the same pitch material and a section featuring imitative development of the oboe melody. The work climaxes and concludes with a return to some of the first movement material.

The piece was commissioned by Marietta Paynter in memory of her husband (and my teacher), John P. Paynter, and it received its premiere on May 8, l998, at Northwestern University with Stephen Peterson conducting.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Northwestern University (Evanston, Ill.) Symphonic Band (Stephen Peterson, conductor) – 8 May 1998 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer