Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony IV (Boysen)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Andrew Boysen, Jr.

Andrew Boysen, Jr.

Subtitle: For Winds and Percussion

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 11:10
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil A. Kjos Music Company
Cost: Score and Parts - $70.00   |   Score Only - $7.00


1. Fast - 3:45
2. Smooth and Flowing - 1:35
3. Scherzo and Trio - 1:35
4. Fast - 4:35


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Guiro
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Bell
  • Ratchet
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Slapstick
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone

Players vocalizing


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Symphony No. 4 follows a traditional form. However, the entire work is based on the octatonic scale, an alternation of half-steps and whole-steps. By using this scale, the Symphony includes both great dissonance as well as great consonance in sounds and colors, and creates a unique work for band.

- Program Note from the University of North Dakota University Band concert program, 13 October 2020

Symphony No. 4 for Winds and Percussion was commissioned by and dedicated to the McCracken Middle School Symphonic Band (Skokie, Illinois). It was premiered at the 2004 Illinois Music Educators Association All-State Conference on January 30, 2004, with the composer conducting.

Written in four movements, Symphony No. 4 derives most of its motivic material from its opening two measures. Several extended techniques and contemporary compositional methods are used throughout the work. These include bowed percussion, dissonance, aleatoric music, unmetered measures, singing, and extended use of the octatonic scale.

- Program Note from McCracken Middle School Symphonic Band concert program, 22 December 2006


State Ratings

  • Georgia: V
  • Wisconsin: Event 3000 Concert Band.Class B


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer