Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony II (Walczyk)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Kevin Walczyk

Kevin Walczyk

Subtitle: Epitaphs Unwritten

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 37:50
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Keveli Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $350.00; (digital) - $325.00   |   Score Only (print) - $70.00


1. Echoes of Sacrifice – 13:40
2. Lament – 18:05
3. Grand March Eternal - 6:05


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III (II doubling Alto Flute; III doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
Sopranino Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (doubles contra alto clarinet)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV-V-VI (I doubling Piccolo Trumpet; V and VI doubling Flugelhorn)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV-V-VI (V and VI optional)
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Bongos (2)
  • Brake Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Field Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (3)
  • Marimba
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Roto-toms (5)
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Suspended Triangles (3)
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Nominated for the 2011 Pulitzer Prize in Music, the 2012 Grawemeyer Award in music composition and winner of the 2011 National Band Association's William D. Revelli Memorial Composition Contest, Symphony No. 2 - "Epitaphs Unwritten" is a monumental work dedicated to the protagonists of freedom who, through sacrifice, suffering, and alacrity to the devotion of their cause, unconditionally liberate those unwillingly subjugated to degradation. Commissioned by a consortium of 18 university and conservatory wind symphonies, Epitaphs Unwritten was inspired by the words penned by an American soldier on a peace marker in the small village of Foy, Belgium near Bastogne. The peace marker silently stands watch over a tranquil field that once served as a temporary burial site for American soldiers during the Battle of the Bulge. Private David J. Phillips (G Co, 3rd BN, 506th PIR/101st Airborne Division) wrote:

"We have only died in vain if you believe so;
you have to decide the wisdom of our choice,
by the world which you shall build upon our headstones;
and the everlasting truth, which have your voice.

Though dead, we are not heroes yet, nor can be,
'til the living by their lives which are the tools,
carve us the epitaph of wise men,
and give us not the epitaph of fools."

The words of the first half of the Foy peace marker are systematically converted to pitches and (musically) 'spoken' in the work's second movement, entitled Lament. Using a similar conversion process, the words that form the second half of the Foy peace marker are 'spoken' in the work's finale, entitled Grand March Eternal. The author's prose speaks to the "wisdom" of their 'choice', referencing an event marked by great suffering and sacrifice, with a plea that future generations would learn from this event, "carve" them the "epitaph of wise men", and "build upon" their "headstones...the everlasting truth".

The work's first movement, entitled Echoes of Sacrifice, pays homage to this referenced event - a conflagration of great suffering and sacrifice, while serving as a point of reference for the author's prose that is musically represented, in its entirety, in the final two movements. Epitaphs "Unwritten" affirms a great responsibility on the living, whose epitaphs have yet to be written, by bearing witness to those heroes, past and present, in a manner that ardently perpetuates the everlasting truth, thus creating future heroes and gaining us the epitaph of wise men.

- Program Note from publisher

For his tireless efforts in commissioning new music and supporting living composers, this work is dedicated to Maestro Ray Cramer.

The composer gratefully acknowledges William K. Wakefield and Danh Pham of the University of Oklahoma for initiating this commission, and for their steadfast support, wisdom and encouragement during the compositional process.

And to the dedicated musicians of the University of Oklahoma Wind Symphony and all participating consortium members, thank you for breathing life into this symphony!

- Program Note from score

The Battle of the Bulge was the last great German offensive of World War II. The goal was to split the allied forces, cutting off supply lines to prevent further advance into Germany. It was also the largest battle involving American forces, which numbered some 600,000 – 81,000 of whom lost their lives.

- Program Note from Teaching Music Through Performance in Band


  • William D. Revelli Memorial Composition Contest Prize by the National Band Association, 2011.
  • Pulitzer Prize nominee, 2011


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Kevin Walczyk website Accessed 6 September 2017
  • Perusal score
  • Walczyk, K. (2010). Symphony No. 2 : Epitaphs Unwritten [score]. Keveli Music: [McMinnville, Ore.]
  • Wollam, Seth F. "Symphony No. 2: 'Epitaphs Unwritten'." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 9, edit. & comp. by Richard Miles, 1039-1051. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2013.