Symphony (Barnes)

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

This work bears the designation Opus 35.

General Info

Year: 1974-75 / 2023
Duration: c. 29:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manuscript
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


1. Allegro vivo - ma non troppo
2. Lento e flebile - Rubato
3. Scherzando - Allegro vivo
4. Passacaglia - Andante maestoso


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drums (3: small, medium and large)
  • Bells (2)
  • Bongos
  • Castanets
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (large)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tenor Drum (large)
  • Triangles (2)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes (metal)
  • Wood Blocks (2)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

James Barnes won his first award in 1978 for his Symphony, op. 35, written for his Master of Music degree at the University of Kansas.

The piece contains four movements: an Allegro in sonata form, a Lento second movement, a Scherzando in seven-part rondo form, and an andante Passacaglia consisting of 18 variations and a coda. The score divides the wind orchestra as many as seven or eight ways in some sections and makes use of a number of different timbres, including multiple types of trumpet mutes, a large percussion section, and integral parts for harp, pianoforte, and celesta.

- Program Note by the University of Maryland University Libraries


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works