Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphonic Suite No 1

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Chad "Sir Wick" Hughes

Chad "Sir Wick" Hughes

Subtitle: Inspirations

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 10:30
Difficulty: IV+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Sir Wick Music
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $125.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00; (digital) - $25.00


1. Chorale and Prelude - 2:40
2. Marziale - 2:35
3. Hymn - 3:15
4. Gigue - 2:15


Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II-III
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Double Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Cabasa
  • Congas
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibraslap
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In the fall of 1993, a life-changing moment occurred. My band director placed before our fourth hour symphonic band Gustav Holst's Second Suite in F. After sight-reading through that piece, I realized immediately that I was going to be in music forever and I wanted to compose for large ensemble. Years later, I composed a piece drawing from my time in high school. Through the fabulous advice of Edward Quick after having to write program notes for Frank Perez and Armand Hall, respectively, I have now subtitled my piece Inspirations.

Happy Birthday to my teacher, Benjamin Pruitt. Here is your dedication on your birthday.

Symphonic Suite No. 1 is a collection of pieces I composed during my time at the University of Michigan. I was constantly told by my good friends and Sinfonian fraternity brothers Jamal Duncan, Armand Hall, and Damien Crutcher to write for symphonic band. I eventually drew upon my time at my alma mater to compose for this idiom, which gave me my love for playing, my love for classical music, and my desire to compose.

Chorale and Prelude was the last piece composed for this suite. It was originally written as my final-exam project in my Baroque counterpoint class with Kevin Korsyn. It was easily made into a piece for saxophone choir. After realizing the suite was incomplete with the later three movements (Marziale, Hymn, and Gigue), I composed additional material (F major) in 2012 to prolong the piece and give it more color.

Marziale comes from my tuba-euphonium quartet Quartet No 1, which was composed for three friends of mine: Kristof Schneider, Tony Halloin, and Todd Shafer. It was inspired by the Hindemith Trombone Sonata, which I first heard performed in 1994 by my brother, Bradford Mallory.

Hymn was originally written as Jesus Is Lord. It was commissioned as a band piece by Frank Perez and Graceland University and premiered December 8, 2011. An alternate version with choir was premiered by Edward P. Quick and the Michigan State University New Horizons Band.

Gigue also comes from my tuba-euphonium quartet. I loved Kristof’s sound on euphonium and was thoroughly impressed with Todd’s and Tony’s range on tuba. Their abilities inspired me to compose habitually. This piece was also inspired by the violoncello suites of Johann Sebastian Bach and Second Suite in F: Fantasia on a Dargason by Gustav Holst.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 365.
  • Sir Wick Music - Accessed 29 June 2020