Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphonic Prelude

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Mark Camphouse

Mark Camphouse

Subtitle: The Cemetery at Colleville-Sur-Mer

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 6:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil A Kjos Music Company
Cost: Score and Parts - $65.00   |   Score Only - $7.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II (English Horn)
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
Eb-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet (Opt.)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (Opt.)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (or Tam-tam)
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Toms
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone


  • Measure 40 should be quarter = 116, not quarter = 100.

Program Notes

Symphonic Prelude (The Cemetery at Colleveille-Sur-Mer) was inspired by a visit to the Normandy region of France in June 2005. The Normandy American Cemetery is situated on a cliff overlooking Omaha Beach and the English Channel in Colleville-Sur-Mer, France. I found it to be an overwhelmingly moving landmark to the American people and our heritage. It is immaculately maintained, and the seemingly endless rows of white crosses and Stars of David are a powerful reminder of the staggeringly high cost of freedom.

This work was written to commemorate the 50th anniversary season of the Northshore Concert Band. It is my sincere hope that the qualities of beauty, dignity, and sacrifice which provided the inspiration for this work will help bring special significance to the Northshore Concert Band's 50th anniversary season theme of "honoring the past and embracing the future".

Symphonic Prelude received its premiere performance by the Northshore Concert Band under the direction of Dr. Mallory Thompson on February 19, 2006, in Pick-Staiger Concert Hall on the Northwestern University campus in Evanston, Illinois.

- Program Note by Mark Camphouse


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Parkland College (Champaign, Ill.) Wind Ensemble (Jonathan Beckett, conductor) - 8 December 2019
  • Grafton (Va.) High School Band (Darren Kirsch, conductor) – 3 December 2018
  • Hope College (Holland, Mich.) Wind Ensemble (Gabe Southard, conductor) – 14 March 2018
  • Parkland College (Champaign, Ill.) Concert Band (Larry Stoner, conductor) - 25 September 2016
  • Fairfax (Va.) Wind Symphony (Carl J. Bianchi, conductor) – 23 December 2006 (2006 Midwest Clinic)
  • Northshore Concert Band (Evanston, Ill.) (Mallory Thompson, conductor) - 19 February 2006 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Camphouse, M. (2006). Symphonic Prelude : The Cemetery at Colleville-Sur-Mer [score]. Neil A. Kjos Music: San Diego, Calif.
  • Mark Camphouse website