Symphonic Overture

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

This work bears the designation Opus 80.

General Info

Year: 1991
Duration: c. 9:40
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $175.00   |   Score Only - $37.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
English Horn (optional)
Bassoon I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III (all div. a2)
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Cello (optional)
String Bass (optional)
Harp (optional)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Castanets
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Guiro
  • Pop Gun
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine
  • Triangles (2)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


In Parts:

  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I: Number 25 is missing.
  • Horn in F I, 3 meas. before 4B: A natural, not a B.

Program Notes

This work was commissioned as a "large, Romantic-style overture" by Lt. Col. James M. Bankhead to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the U.S. Air Force Band. The band premiered the work at the March 1991 American Bandmasters Association convention in Tempe, Arizona.

After a bold and extended introductory fanfare, followed by the principal theme in solo oboe, the middle section features a lengthy alto saxophone solo. A second fast development, including some special "champagne music" (complete with a cork sound for the celebration), recaps the opening fanfare in a presto coda.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

  • Georgia: VI
  • New York: Concert Band VI
  • North Carolina: VI
  • South Carolina: VI
  • Virginia: VI
  • MusicFest Canada: B600


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Barnes, J. (1992). Symphonic Overture [score]. Southern Music: San Antonio, Tex.
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 37-38.