Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphonic March on an English Hymn Tune

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Claude T. Smith

Claude T. Smith

General Info

Year: 1985 / 1994
Duration: c. 4:10
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Claude T. Smith Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


Full Score
Flute (and Piccolo)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet/E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the Northshore Concert Band, John Paynter, conductor. The premiere of this work was on July 28, 1984 by the Northshore Concert Band at the First Annual Adult Band Conference, with Claude T. Smith conducting.

- Program Note from publisher

A bold exciting march expertly blended with the English tune Terra Beata, more commonly known as the hymn This Is My Father’s World.

- Program Note from C.L. Barnhouse


State Ratings

  • Virginia: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Concordia University (Irvine, Calif.) Wind Orchestra (Jeff Held, conductor) – 9 November 2019
  • Northshore Concert Band (Evanston, Ill.) (Claude T. Smith, conductor) – 28 July 1984 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Smith, C. (1994). Symphonic March on an English Hymn Tune [score]. Claude T. Smith Publications: Olathe, Kan.