Symphonic Dance No. 1

From Wind Repertory Project
Edvard Grieg

Edvard Grieg (arr. Chalon Ragsdale)

'The underlying work bears the designation Opus 64.

General Info

Year: 1896-98 / 2005
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Aux Arcs Music, through C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00   |   Score Only (print) - $50.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion (8 players), including:

  • Chimes
  • Marimba I-II-III
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The immense popularity of Edvard Grieg’s Peer Gynt Suites and the Piano Concerto have overshadowed some of his other fine accomplishments for orchestra. The Symphonic Dances were written in 1896-98 during Grieg’s mature period. They deserve a more prominent place in the standard repertoire; in them Grieg makes excellent use of dance rhythms, folk tunes, expressive lyricism and a fine ear for effective orchestration.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Louisiana: V
  • Texas: V. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works