Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphonic Dance IV (Williams)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Clifton Williams

Clifton Williams (trans. Thomas Stone)

Subtitle: Square Dance

General Info

Year: 1996 / 2018
Duration: c. 4:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Maestro & Fox Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $87.00


C Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Wash Board
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Symphonic Dance No. 4 Square Dance is one of a group of five originally commissioned by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation commemorating the twenty-fifth anniversary of the San Antonio Symphony Orchestra, which first performed the entire set of dances on January 30, 1965 under that baton of the composer. Williams transcribed Dances 2, The Maskers, 3, Fiesta, and 5, New Generation, for symphonic band, although only 2 and 3 were published initially. Each dance represents a culture which at a given historical time occupied the San Antonio area.

The current transcription for symphonic band was completed by Thomas Stone in 2018.

- Program Note adapted from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works