Symphonia Glorioso

From Wind Repertory Project
David Holsinger

David Holsinger

Subtitle: A Celebration Fanfare

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 3:55
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: TRN Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V

  • Bar Chimes
  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Claves, metal
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Field Drum
  • Marimba
  • Ribbon Crasher
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle (3)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Symphonia Gloriosa was commissioned by Lee University to honor its President, Dr. Paul Conn, when he completed his 20th year at the helm of this remarkable university. As part of a year-long celebration, Holsinger was commissioned to write this fanfare to open the festivities in the fall of 2006. Based on one of Dr. Conn’s favorite hymns, the 1906 Charles P. Jones hymn, All I Need, the fanfare opens with penetrating percussion and jagged brass outbursts, interjecting fragments and phrases of the hymn as it propels toward the final chorale and riveting conclusion. Ten years later, the music continues!.....

- Program Note from Lee University Wind Ensemble concert program, 11 October 2016


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Lee University (Cleveland, Tenn.) Wind Ensemble (David Holsinger, conductor) – 16 November 2021
  • Lee University (Cleveland, Tenn.) Wind Ensemble (David Holsinger, conductor) – 11 October 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • David Holsinger website Accessed 29 August 2021
  • Holsinger, D. (2006). Symphonia Glorioso: A Celebration Fanfare [score]. TRN Music Publisher: Alto, N.M.