From Wind Repertory Project
Stephen Bulla

Stephen Bulla

General Info

Year: 2003
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Curnow Music Press, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $130.00   |   Score Only (print) - $44.00




Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This three-movement work develops from and mirrors Stephen's earlier work Rhapsody for Brass, but with more modern tonal outlines and original melodic material. The first movement opens with several fanfare-like figures, which recur at various times in different instrumental combinations. With development, this music takes on a carnival-like atmosphere before concluding with an upward flourish. The second movement commences quietly with a slower theme shared by several solo instruments, and develops into an extended study on The Water Is Wide. The third movement reverts to the rhapsodic format with a lively theme marked 'in a playful manner'. This substantial work is a gem in the concert band repertoire.

- Program Note from Ebay

Commissioned by the Southwestern Michigan College.
To Sir Dean Goffin.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Andrews University (Berrien Springs, Mich.) Wind Symphony (Byron Graves, conductor) - 29 November 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer