Swords Against the Sea

From Wind Repertory Project
James Hosay

James Hosay

Subtitle: The Legend of Blackbeard the Pirate

General Info

Year: 2001
Duration: c. 7:45
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Curnow Music Press, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $79.00   |   Score Only (print) - $16.00


1. Aboard the Queen Anne's Revenge
2. Awaiting their Imminent
3. Battle to the Death


Full Score
Flute (Piccolo)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Accordion (optional)
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Conga
  • Canon
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-tom
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Blackbeard and his crew of ruffian freebooters aboard the ship Queen Anne's Revenge were the terrors of the Atlantic and the Caribbean in the early 18th century. Composer James L. Hosay captures those turbulent times in music with his vivid and exciting tone poem, Swords Against The Sea. A rollicking sea chantey and the emotions of impending battle are described in the first two movements. The final movement brings the sound and fury of battle, as the most feared pirate of his day finally meets his match.

- Program Note adapted from publisher

In celebration of the discovery of the shipwreck Queen Anne's Revenge.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class CC
  • Georgia: IV
  • Minnesota: III
  • Tennessee: III


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer