Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Swan on the Hill, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jan Van der Roost

Jan Van der Roost

General Info

Year: 2005
Duration: c. 4:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: De Haske Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €94.99   |   Score Only (print) - €20.95


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Field Drum (or large snare)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (small)
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone (with motor)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This stately opening work begins in the low register and exhibits a broad main theme in which the low brass immediately sets the tone, sustained by a continuing percussion cadence. Gradually, other sections and registers emerge, and the rhythmic element becomes more active, although a majestic character is maintained. This is a true sound piece, without great virtuosity or complexity, but with a good balance between static and dynamic elements.

- Program Note from score



To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Roost, J. (2005). The Swan on the Hill [score]. De Haske: Heerenveen, Holland.