Susato Dance Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Tielman Susato

Tielman Susato (arr. David Marlatt)

Subtitle: From Danserye

General Info

Year: 1551 / 2016
Duration: c. 9:20
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Eighth Note Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


1. La Morisque
2. Branle
3. Ronde Trilogy
4. Bergerette
5. Battle


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Crash Cymbals
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Tielman Susato (1500-1561) was an amateur musician who set himself as a printer and publisher of his, and other people's, music. It was from the Danserye, (1551), a set of dances, that these several dances have been selected and arranged. There was no indication on the original score as to the instrumentation, but Susato said, "The dances shall be pleasing and appropriate, to be played on instruments of all kinds."

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Concert Band Chamber Winds (Courtney Snyder, conductor) – 9 November 2018
  • University of Minnesota (Minneapolis) Symphonic Band (Jerry Luckhardt, conductor) – 12 April 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist 71.1 (2016): 40. Print
  • Perusal score