Suite on Greek Love Songs

From Wind Repertory Project
Henk van Lijnschooten

Henk van Lijnschooten

General Info

Year: 1984
Duration: c. 9:10
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Folk songs
Publisher: Molenaar Edition
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €174.21   |   Score Only (print) - €27.50


1. Vivace ironico – 1:20
2. Andante espressivo - 2:30
3. Allegretto patetico – 2:10
4. Presto 2:00


Full Score
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet/Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass (or Bass Guitar)
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Guiro
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Love is a well-known subject in Greek folk songs. This suite is based on four folk tunes from the 18th century. The are in fact "mockery songs" because the girl is continually mocking at the man's declaration of love. The composer uses mostly only the main motif of each tune, after that give an own turn [sic] for the illustration of the text.

1. Vivace ironico. I had one love. She heartlessly only mocked me. But for me she will always be the only love in the world.

2. Andante espressivo. When I was only a boy I fell in love with a shepherdess. She kissed me and said, "You are too young to love." I am grown now and she loves another. But I can never forget that kiss she gave me.

3. Allegretto patetico. Your eyes are black like olives. And when I kiss you I tremble on my knees and I feel weak and nervous.

4. Presto. When I enter the garden of the convent I see an apple tree and in it a nun. I tell her to come down that we might build a nest. But she picks the apples and throw[sic] them at me.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class A
  • Louisiana: III
  • Louisiana: IV
  • Tennessee: V
  • Texas: III. (Mvt. 2 plus one other mvt.)
  • Texas: IV. Complete
  • Virginia: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Lijnschooten, H. [1986?]. Suite on Greek Love Songs: For Symphonic Band [score]. Molenaar Edition: Wormerveer, Netherland.
  • Perusal score