Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Suite from “All-Night Vigil” (Vespers)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sergiei Rachmaninoff

Sergei Rachmaninoff (arr. Jay Juchniewicz)

General Info

Year: 1915 / 2016
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: IV (for 2-3 movements) V+ (entire suite) (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes – Windepedence Artist Level Series
Cost: Score and Parts - $145.00   |   Score Only - $25.00


1. Come Let Us Worship
2. Bless the Lord, O My Soul
3. Glory to God in the Highest
4. Having Beheld the Resurrection
5. The Great Doxology


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion (3 parts), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Chimes
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) is widely recognized as one of the greatest pianists of all time. His piano compositions including the 2nd Piano Concerto, Preludes, and Etudes-Tableaux, are all considered staples of the genre’s repertoire. While his symphonic and choral works reflect his Russian Romantic-style of lyrical melodies, lush harmonies, and emotional allure, the influence of Russian church music and ritual greatly impacted his life and compositions. Many of his larger works, including Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Symphonic Dances, and The Bells utilized thematic material from Roman Catholic masses and Russian Orthodox chants, while the latter also became the basis for his two liturgical unaccompanied vocal compositions, Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom and Vespers.

The All-Night Vigil, or Vespers, as it is more commonly rendered in English, is a setting of music for a night-long service on the eves of Russian Orthodox holy days. Rachmaninoff based the 15 movements of his choral setting on a combination of traditional Russian Orthodox chants, Russian Orthodox versions of Latin hymns, and original chants created by the composer so similar in style to the other Russian sacred chants that Rachmaninoff actually referred to them as “conscious counterfeits.” Completed in less than two weeks between January and February 1915, Rachmaninoff considered the work one of his two favorite compositions and remarked to the singers at the premiere performance in March of 1915, “Even in my dreams I could not have imagined that I would write such a work.”

This arrangement of the Vespers utilizes the 1st, 2nd, 7th, 10th, and 12th movements respectively, along with the traditional “Amens” at the beginning of Movements 1 and 2. Unlike other settings of choral works for wind ensemble, this arrangement is constructed as a complete suite that is intended to allow the performers and audience to experience the power and beauty of the complete Vespers.

The first 3 movements were debuted on April 8, 2014 by Scott Carter and the East Carolina University Wind Ensemble. The premiere of the entire suite was conducted by Richard Clary and the Florida State University Wind Orchestra on October 7, 2014.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of South Alabama (Mobile) Wind Ensemble (William H. Petersen, conductor) – 16 November 2021
  • Florida State University (Tallahassee) Wind Orchestra (Richard Clary, conductor) - 7 October 2014 Premiere Performance

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


None discovered thus far.