Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Suite for Winds (Ballou)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Esther Williamson Ballou

Esther Ballou (ed. Jordan E. Kinsey)

General Info

Year: 1957 / 2016
Duration: c. 10:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: American Composers Alliance
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


1. Allegro - 2:00
2. Lento e dolce - 1:40
3. Allegro - 4:00
4. Allegro - 2:00


Double Wind Quintet (2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Suite for Winds was premiered in March of 1957 at Catholic University by members of the United States Air Force Band under the direction of Colonel George S. Howard. Previously existing only in the composer's manuscript edition from American Composers Alliance, a modern edition was prepared in consultation with the Esther Ballou Papers at American University in 2016.


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Maryland (College Park) Wind Orchestra (Brad Jopek, conductor) - 13 November 2021
  • Penn State University (University Park) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Tonya Mitchell-Spradlin, conductor) - 9 December 2020
  • University of Cincinnati (Ohio) College-Conservatory of Music Chamber Winds (Kevin Michael Holzman, conductor) – 31 October 2019
  • Rutgers University Chamber Winds (Jordan E. Kinsey, conductor) – March 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.