Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Suite No. 1 (Smith)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Fred Emory Smith

Fred Emory Smith

Subtitle: For Percussion Ensemble

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 4:25
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Tapspace Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $38.00; (digital) - $34.00   |   Score Only (print) - $11.00; (digital) - $11.00


Full Score
Percussion I-II-III-IV (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba (4.3 octaves)
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Shakers
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The composer Fred Emory Smith earned a 2013 Emmy nomination for his work with PBS on P.O.V., written for percussion ensemble, entitled Suite No. 1. The work makes use of a rhythmic motif in 4/4 time that is later explored in 7/8 time. Although not bombastic in nature, the work is certainly high in energy. A middle section turns lyrical and smooth until the drums take over once again.

- Program Note from Baylor University Concert Band program notes, 5 May 2019

Commissioned by the Pacific Symphony Youth Wind Ensemble.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Ohio: 651 – PERCUSSION ENS B
  • Texas: Percussion ensemble class 1.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer