Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Cristina Spinei

Cristinia Spinei

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 5:45
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Cristina Spinei
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $125.00   |   Score Only (digital) - $25.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (III doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Strut! is a short, fast-paced work inspired by the sounds and patterns of walking. The title of the work came to me before the music. I read an article about composers who were in the habit of going on walks while thinking about their music. Beethoven, Mahler, Britten, Tchaikovsky, and Satie among others took daily strolls as part of their compositional process. Some of my favorite musical ideas have come to me when I’m out traipsing through town and I thought it would be fun to incorporate the cadence of many people walking into a brisk piece.

Strut! was originally composed for orchestra. Conductor Gregory Wolynec commissioned an arrangement for chamber orchestra and this current wind ensemble version, which is my favorite of the three.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge) Wind Ensemble (Emmanuel Rodriguez, conductor) - 30 November 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer