Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Strata (Cain)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Neil Clifton Cain

Neil Clifton Cain

General Info

Year: 2020
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil Clifton Cain
Cost: Score and Parts - Contact composer


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (medium)
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (large and small)
  • Tam-Tam (large and small)
  • Tom-Tom (high and low)
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

When on a mountain trek in Olympic National Park with my father in 2007, I was amazed at the way the forest shifted as we increased in altitude. The flora constantly evolved and thinned out, bearing us onto stretches of steep rock. As the landscape morphed, so did the presence of the mountain and its inhabitants. I felt as if I was slowly entering a strange and foreign land that possessed a profound spiritual dimension that was overwhelming, even scary. The motion of the energy I was immersed in, both inside and out, reminded me of the unfolding of clouds or the shuddering of still smoke when disrupted by wind. These textures and forms create the basis for this musical portrait of passage through the various strata of a deeply internal, spiritual, and emotional realm.

This piece was composed and performed as part of the "Hammer and Nail" collaboration between the band and composition departments at Indiana University.

- Program Note from Indiana University Symphonic Band concert program, 8 February 2022


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Symphonic Band (Eric M. Smedley, conductor) – 8 February 2022 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer