Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Star Wars: Episode I, The Phantom Menace

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
John Williams

John Williams (arr. Robert W Smith)

Subtitle: Symphonic Suite

General Info

Year: 1999
Duration: c. 7:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of print

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I (Flugelhorn)
B-flat Trumpet II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-II-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Metal Trash Can Lid
  • Police Whistle
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Tom, low
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes


In Parts:

  • B-flat Trumpet I, m.28, beat 3: B-flat should read B natural.

Program Notes

Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace is a 1999 American epic space opera film written and directed by George Lucas. It is the fourth film to be released in the Star Wars saga, is the first of a three-part prequel to the original Star Wars trilogy, as well as the first film in the saga in terms of story chronology: The Phantom Menace was also Lucas’ first product as a film director after 22 years, and only his fourth overall. The film follows the Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jirm and his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi who escort and protect Queen Amidala in traveling from the planet Naboo to the planet Coruscant in the hope of finding a peaceful end to a large-scale interplanetary trade dispute. Along the way, they meet Anakin Skywalker, a young slave boy who seems to be unusually strong with nascent powers of The Force, and must contend with the mysterious return of the Sith.

Lucas began production of this motion picture after he had concluded that the science of movie special effects had advanced to the level of what he wanted for his fourth film in the Saga. Its filming took place during 1997 at various locations including Leavesden Film Studios and the Tunisian desert. Its special effects included extensive use of computer-generated imagery (CGI), with some of its characters and its settings being completely computerized and not existing at all in the real world.

The Phantom Menace premiered in theaters on May 19, 1999, sixteen years after the 1983 premiere of the previous film in the saga Return of the Jedi. This arrangement for wind orchestra includes the Main Theme, Duel of the Fates, Anakin’s Theme, Augie’s Great Municipal Band and the End Credits.

- Program Note by San Luis Obispo Wind Orchestra


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Williams, J.; Smith, R. (1999). Symphonic Suite from Star Wars: The Phantom Menace: Featuring Star Wars (Main Theme), Duel of the Fates, Anakin's Theme, Augie's Great Municipal Band, and End Credits [score]. Warner Bros.: Miami, Fla.