Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Square (Wind Ensemble)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert W. Smith

Robert W Smith

Subtitle: Movement 2 from American Dances

General Info

Year: 2017 / 2019
Duration: c. 1:58
Difficulty: IV-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass ensemble
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00   |   Oversized Score (print) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III (3 players), including:

  • Spoons
  • Washboard (with Thimbles)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Composed for the Boston Pops Brass, American Dances by Robert W. Smith is a multi-movement work on American popular dances and music. This work was premiered as part of the orchestra's summer season at Tanglewood in the Berkshires of Western Massachusetts.

This movement, entitled Square, is based on the folk, country and bluegrass music of the Appalachian Mountains and the American West. Rich in tradition, Square is a celebration of American folk music and dance for the symphonic band.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works