Spheres, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Ola Gjeilo

Ola Gjeilo (arr. Edwin Powell)

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 5:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra and choir
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.50


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Piatti
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This evocative work has been adapted for wind band from the composer's mass entitled Sunrise for choir and string orchestra. Built around a five-note theme is a fade in-fade out effect that gives a real sense of floating in space. A stunning work that provides a new and unique voice in band literature.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • South Carolina: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Strafford Wind Symphony (Wolfeboro, N.H.) (Jeffrey Smith, conductor) - 18 March 2023
  • Lawrence University (Appleton, Wisc.) Wind Ensemble (unconducted) – 24 February 2019
  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Symphony Band (David Thornton, conductor) – 5 February 2019
  • Baylor University (Waco, Texas) Symphonic Band (Isaiah Odajima, conductor) – 20 April 2018
  • Texas Tech University (Lubbock) Power Band (Ray Velasquez, conductor) – 27 March 2018
  • Pacific Lutheran University (Tacoma, Wash.) Wind Ensemble (Edwin Powell, conductor) – 14 March 2012 (CBDNA 2012 Western/Northwestern Division Conference, Reno, Nev.)
  • Pacific Lutheran University (Tacoma, Wash.) Wind Ensemble (Edwin Powell, conductor) - October 2010 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Ubi Caritas (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Kotovsky) (2007/2016/2020)

All Wind Works


  • Gjeilo, O. (2012). The Spheres [score]. Walton Music: Chapel Hill, N.C.
  • Ola Gjeio website Accessed 28 March 2018