Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert Langenfeld

Robert Langenfeld

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 5:25
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Grand Mesa Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $100.00   |   Score Only (print) - $16.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Brake Drum
  • Chimes
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Whip


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

It only takes a spark to start something big. Set around a six-note motif, Spark! represents the chain of events that can happen as an idea is brought to life from a singular seed. The piece evolves from this idea and eventually takes on a life of its own, growing organically as the piece proceeds to its full-blown, exciting conclusion.

- Program Note from publisher

For my wife Arrianne. Who continues to be the spark of inspiration in my life.

- Program Note from score


This work won the 2016 Claude T. Smith Composition Contest. The contest honors composers under the age of 30.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • "Claude T. Smith Contest Winner." The Instrumentalist, December 2015, p. 12.
  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist, 72/4 (November, 2017), p. 26.
  • Perusal score
  • Robert Langenfeld website Accessed 30 September 2019