Sounds of Spring, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Naoya Wada

Naoya Wada and Shizuka Sato

General Info

Year: 2013
Duration: c. 2:40
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Grand Mesa Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal


In Parts:

  • B-flat Bass Clarinet, m.81-82: Staccato dots missing from part (score is correct).
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet, m.84: sim. marking is missing from part (score is correct).

In Score and Parts:

  • B-flat Clarinet II, m.57: Slur marks missing from the 2 notes in beat 1 and from the 2 notes in beat 2.
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet, m.83: Staccato dot is missing.

Program Notes

Infinitely and instantly appealing, this fresh new march will wow audiences and give students a new appreciation for an old form. In this first-time collaboration by a Japanese composing team, memorable melodies spring out in abundance in this charming setting. Melody, counter-melody, and an intense woodwind obbligato all come together in a stirring finale that is absolutely dazzling.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works