Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jodie Blackshaw

Jodie Blackshaw

This title of this work is properly written with an umlaut: Soulstrōm

General Info

Year: 2010 / 2019
Duration: c. 15:50
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manhattan Beach Music
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $175.00   |   Score Only (print) - $125.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV-V-VI
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • China Cymbal (large)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Nailenspiel (a homemade percussion instrument; instructions in score)
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Siren (crank, medium high)
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam (large)
  • Tom-Toms (3)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Soulström was originally a work of music theatre based around the tale of a solitary individual in the centre of a storm. The work originally featured a narrator who told the dramatic story of a freak alien storm that used the energy of people to fuel its fury -- which you will hear in the music. In the centre of the storm, a lone person was searching for their lost love, and locked inside the storm’s fury was the key to freedom: the beauty and grace of love itself.

About halfway through the composition it became apparent that this original story was indeed an allegory pertaining to my very own struggle with depression and grief over the loss of my beloved father in 1997. In the story the lost love was revealed as my lost life and the storm, the epitome of the depths of my depression. In realization of this the work transformed and the narrator’s role is now completely non-existent.

Beginning with resignation and a still misty morning, the lost soul recalls painful memories, which slowly enter consciousness. Gradually the memories build and layer upon one another to the point of becoming unbearable before a brief glimpse of hope -- a glowing happy memory recalled.

But hope is soon lost and the individual sinks back into depression. Fighting overwhelming anger, resentment and rage the individual finally defiantly breaks the hold of the grief to emerge strong, jubilant and free.

The compositional process became a passionate, cathartic experience, and what began as a piece based around a storm, a desperate person and the search for lost love became so much more. I hope it will touch hearts and help others find freedom.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Oklahoma State University (Stillwater) Wind Ensemble (Bradley Genervo, conductor) - 15 September 2022
  • Texas Woman's University (Denton) Wind Symphony (Carter Biggers, conductor) - 23 September 2021
  • Arkansas State University (Jonesboro) Wind Ensemble (Tim Oliver, conductor) – 20 February 2020 (CBDNA 2020 Southwestern Division Conference, Norman, Okla.)
  • University of Toronto (Ont., Can.) Wind Ensemble (Gillian MacKay, conductor) – 5 April 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works