Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Sonatina in the Old Style

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Shuhei Tamura

Shuhei Tamura

Subtitle: For Flexible Trio

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 4:30
Difficulty: IV-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $50.00


1. Allegro
2. Adagio
3. Vivace

Instrumentation (Flexible)

Full Score
Part 1

  • Flute
  • E-flat Soprano Clarinet

Part 2

  • Oboe
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • B-flat Soprano Saxophone

Part 3

  • Bassoon
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 2013, I was commissioned by Professor Kazuhiko Tsuchiya of Tamagawa Gakuen Junior High School to compose and premiered at the 24th Machida City Ensemble Concert by three members of the school. The composition composed for Flute / Oboe / Clarinet in B-flat was reorganized into a flexible composition for publication.

The work takes the classical style seen in Mozart and Haydn throughout, and it is composed of three parts: one movement in the sonatine style that condensed elements of presentation and development, two gentle movements, and three movements that refresh the finale. Made of a short playing time of five minutes, we packed various changes with three movements, passages and lightness unique to woodwind triplet.

- Program Note by composer (translated from Japanese through Google Translate)

Commissioned by the Tamagawa Academy.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works