Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Sonatina II, Fröhliche Werkstatt

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Richard Strauss

Richard Strauss

The subtitle translates from the German as "The Happy Workshop."

This work bears the German designation Sonatine Es-Dur, Op. AV 143.

General Info

Year: 1946 / 1952
Duration: c. 38:40
Difficulty: V
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental   |   Score Only - $45.00


1. Allegro con Brio – 13:10
2. Andantino – 5:30
3. Menuet – 4:30
4. Einleitung (Andante) – 16:00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
C Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Basset Horn
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Horn in F I-II
E-flat Horn I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

One of Strauss's last compositions, the Fröhliche Wertstatt (or Happy Workship) has high technical and musical demands. It requires a solid understanding of Classical, Romantic, and post-Romantic performing styles, as all three are utilized. This lengthy work is suitable for university, semi-professional and professional performers. The wind band medium is fortunate to claim Symphonie für Bläser in its repertoire, and sophisticated audiences will admire the direct, intimate style embraced by Strauss near the end of his life.

- Program Note from Great Music for Wind Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Northwestern University (Evanston, Ill.) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Mallory Thompson, conductor) - 28 May 2021
  • University of Cincinnati (Ohio) College-Conservatory of Music Wind Symphony (Kevin Michael Holzman, conductor) - 10 October 2020
  • Rutgers University New (Brunswick, N.J.) Wind Ensemble (William Berz, conductor) – 6 December 2019
  • University of Cincinnati (Ohio) College-Conservatory of Music Chamber Players (Terrence Milligan, conductor) – 15 April 2018
  • Boston Conservatory Wind Ensemble (Eric Hewitt, conductor) – 11 December 2015
  • Alumnos de Instrumenta (Thomas Indermühle, conductor) - 2012

Works for Winds by This Composer