Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Sonatina I

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Richard Strauss

Richard Strauss

Subtitle: Aus der Werkstatt eines Invaliden

General Info

Year: 1943
Duration: c. 31:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts - $79.00


1. Allegro Moderato - 10:39
2. Romanza und Menuetto - 8:07
3. Finale: Molto allegro - 12:12


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
Contra Bassoon
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Basset Horn
Horn in F I-II-III-IV


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This chamber work for winds was composed more than sixty years after Serenade, opus 7. During the summer of 1943 when he was recuperating from illness, Strauss began the work and gave it the humorous subtitle "Out of an invalid's workshop." He wrote for 16 instruments -- the 13 used in the Serenade Opus 7 plus a third clarinet, a basset horn, and a bass clarinet. The first movement, allegro moderato, begins on a solemn Wagnarian note, but the mood is soon superseded by passages of elfin grace and Straussian wit. A contrasting middle section provides opportunities for instruments to alternately intone expressive solo passages. A long drawn-out restatement ends in a melancholic coda. The second movement, Romanza, is similar to the first movement in structure but with a graceful dance-like section presented in the middle section. The last movement, Molto allegro, displays a scherzo-like character.

-Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Royal College of Music (London, England) Wind Ensemble (Simon Channing, conductor) – 30 November 2022
  • Royal College of Music (London, England) Wind Ensemble (Simon Channing, conductor) – 1 November 2019
  • Netherlands Wind Ensemble (Edo de Waart, conductor) - 2011

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 570.
  • Strauss, R. Sonatina No. 1 in F = Aus der Werkstatt eines Invaliden [score]. Boosey & Hawkes Musikverlag: Berlin.