Solemn Prelude (Coleridge-Taylor)

From Wind Repertory Project
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (trans. Paul Noble)

This work bears the designation Opus 40.

General Info

Year: 1899
Duration: c. 9:20
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Noble Music Productions, through
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $100.00


  • Full Score
  • C Piccolo
  • Flute I-II
  • Oboe I-II
  • English Horn
  • Bassoon I-II
  • Contra-Bassoon
  • E-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
  • Horn in F I-II-III-IV
  • Trombone I-II
  • Bass Trombone
  • Baritone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Contra-Bass
  • Piano
  • Timpani
  • Percussion, including:
*Bass Drum
*Crash Cymbals
*Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

It has been my privilege to receive from the Three Choirs Festival in the U.K. the opportunity to produce this arrangement of Solemn Prelude for concert/wind band from a long-lost piece of music. Samuel Coleridge-Taylor was commissioned in 1899 by the Three Choirs Festival, with its history spanning over 300 years and having commissioned over 550 works, to create this beautifully romantic and highly chromatic work. The exploration of ten tonal centers contributes to a depth of feeling and emotion that brought added prestige to the young composer. This arrangement has been produced from a copy of the original, handwritten, autographed score.

- Program Note by arranger


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Northern Illinois University (DeKalb) Wind Ensemble (Thomas Bough, conductor) – 13 October 2023
  • Wheaton (Ill.) Municipal Band (Bruce Moss, conductor) – 15 June 2023 *Arrangement Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Danse Negre (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Bukin) (1898/2020)

All Wind Works