Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Sokol Fanfare

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Leoš Janáček

Leoš Janáček

Subtitle: 1st Movement from Sinfonietta

General Info

Year: 1926 / 1975
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Universal Edition
Cost: Score and Parts - $32.95


Full Score
B-flat Trumpet (9)
Bass Trumpet (2)
Tuba I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Sokol Fanfare was originally one of several fanfares that Janáček composed for a Sokol Slet (Falcon Festival), a gymnastic event in Prague. Founded in Prague in 1862 and still active today, the Sokol movement is an all-age gymnastics organization based upon the principle of “a strong mind in a sound body.” The movement spread across Eastern Europe and beyond, and influenced organizations such as the Boy Scouts.

Composed for brass and percussion in 1926, Sokol Fanfare later became the opening movement of Janáček’s Sinfoniett for full orchestra. With broad sonorities and pounding rhythms, it evokes the sight of a falcon soaring over rugged landscape below, symbolizing the Sokol ideal of staying above politics.

Program Note by Matt Sadowski for the University of Georgia Hodgson Wind Ensemble concert program, 15 November 2016


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Janáček, L. (1975). Sokol Fanfare : 1926 : First Movement from Sinfonietta for Brass Ensemble [score]. Universal Edition: [Wien].