Soaring (Wada)

From Wind Repertory Project
Naoya Wada

Naoya Wada

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 6:25
Difficulty: III+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Grand Mesa
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00; (digital) - $85.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The title of this lofty work perfectly describes the musical elements it portrays: memorable, soaring melodies and upper woodwind obbligatos, a traditional ABA structure presented in an elevated way, and overall feeling of exhilaration one gets in the presence of great bands and band music. The slower middle section of the work unfolds in an uplifting way through two key changes and many different sonorities, including solos for trombone and trumpet.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by and dedicated to the Sagami Women's University Junior & Senior High School Band, Urara Sekii & Yoshiki Kondo, directors.

- Program Note from score

This work reflects superb sophisticated simplicity in its compositional crafting. After an opening with a timpani and snare drum duo, the trumpets and saxophones herald a bold melodic theme that functions as a fanfare introduction. Conceived structurally like a band overture, the work features each section of the concert band, with the clarinets having a contrastingly slower theme in the second section of this three-part structure. A return to the opening fanfare with a concluding coda completes this excellent compo- sition.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Naoya Wada website Accessed 11 September 2021
  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist, 75/1 (August/September 2020), p. 26.
  • Perusal score
  • Wada, N. (2017). Soaring [score]. Grand Mesa Music: Grand Junction, Colo.