Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Slavonic Folk Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alfred Reed

Alfred Reed

General Info

Year: 1953 / 1987
Duration: c. 6:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Charles Hansen Music Corp, through Alfred Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $5.00


1. Children's Carol
2. Cathedral Chorus


Condensed Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass

(percussion detail desired)


The following errata are only in the revised version.

1st Movement

  • B-flat Bass Clarinet, Letter B+1,2: 3rd note should be E, not D
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet, Letter B+4: Add a tie between the 2nd and 3rd notes

2nd Movement

  • B-flat Bass Clarinet, Letter B-1: Add accents to all 4 notes
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet, Letter C+9 and C+10: Add crescendo symbol between 2 bars
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet, Letter C+11: Add ff
  • E-flat Alto Clarinet, Letter C+11: Add ff
  • Trombone III, m.52: The 16th note on the "a" of beat 4 should be marked E-natural

Program Notes

This two-part suite is comprised of melodies from the first and last sections of Reed's well-known Russian Christmas Music. The accompaniment is generally the same as well.


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Arkansas: III
  • California: C
  • Texas: III. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Concert Band (John Korak, conductor) - 8 December 2021
  • Ole Brook Wind Symphony (Brookhaven, Miss.) (Stanley Stewart, conductor) – 12 November 2018
  • University of Arizona (Tucson) Wind Symphony (Gregg I Hanson, conductor) – 26 April 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Reed, A. [1953]. Slavonic Folk Suite [score]. C.H. Hanson Music: Denver, Colo.