Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Slavonic Dance No 7, Op 72

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Antonín Dvořák

Antonín Dvořák (trans. Kenneth Amis)

General Info

Year: 1886 / 2001
Duration: c. 3:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano duet
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes, Inc.
Cost: Score and Parts - $95   |   Score (Purchase) - $12.95


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Soprano Sax
Alto Sax I-II
Tenor Sax
Baritone Sax
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Trombone III (Bass)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbal (crash)
  • Marimba
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Dvořák’s Slavonic Dances established his reputation as a composer, although a previous patriotic cantata brought him to the attention of musicians. The success of this work was striking, for in it he first made use of the national idiom. But the popularity of the dances spread his name far and wide among the lay public.

No. 7 in C Minor is a SKOCNA, a dance involving leaping or hopping. According to the Czech writer Jiri Berkovec, the rhythm, melodic contour, and general structure of this piece conform to the outlines of the tetka (“auntie” dance) of the Haná region, and it is rounded off by a lively polka.

Program note by Julian Seaman/Great Orchestral Music/Richard Freed


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire Wind Symphony (Alex Plum, student conductor) - 26 April 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Dvořák, A.; Amis, K. (2001). Slavonic Dance No. 7, Op. 72 [score]. Boosey & Hawkes: New York.