Sky Searching Within Itself, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Quinn Mason

Quinn Mason

General Info

Year: 2022
Duration: c. 10:05
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Masonian Publications, through NYC Music Services
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - Rental   |   Score Only (print) - $55.99


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal (large)
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangles (4)
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

What is loss? And how do we deal with it? And when we look up at the sky to contemplate these feelings, what are we searching for? Or do we allow the sky to search itself for the deeper meaning and reveal itself to us?

The Sky Searching Within Itself is a piece that asks these questions and meditates on the journey to find the answers. In the form of ‘rhapsody-ballad’, the composition begins as though it is lost in thought, and throughout weaves its way through a range of different emotions, from the depressing to the somewhat hopeful and accepting.

The work was commissioned by KMFA 89.5 [radio in Austin, Tx.] in memory of Draylen Mason (whom my yearlong residency with the radio station was named after) and dedicated with gratitude to Prof. Jerry Junkin and the University of Texas Wind Ensemble.

- Program Note by composer


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer