Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Sketches on Paintings No 2

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Brett Abigaña

Brett Abigaña

General Info

Year: 2007 / 2015
Duration: c. 19:00
Difficulty: V-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: String chamber ensemble
Publisher: World Projects
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $145.00   |   Score Only (print) - $35.00


1. Claude Monet - Water lilies – 2:15
2. Edgar Degas - L'étoile – 4:10
3. Jackson Pollock - Lavender Mist – 5:00
4. Joseph Turner - Norham castle, sunrise – 5:50


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Flexatones (2)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Rute
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tom-Toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Sketches on Paintings No. 2 is the second work in a series of pieces based on paintings that suggest to the composer a particular musical quality.

The first movement, Claude Monet – Water Lilies, is an exploration of sonorities throughout the ensemble reminiscent of the famous triptych first viewed by the composer at the Museeì Marmottan Monet in Paris, France. Edgar Degas – L’Eìtoile is a whimsical, dream-like waltz to which the ghostly ballerinas in the painting may be dancing. Jackson Pollock – Lavender Mist is a quasi-minimalist piece written specifically to follow the erratic yet graceful movement of the painter as he created his works, as seen in numerous videos of his process. Joseph Turner – Norham Castle: Sunrise is a seemingly un-moving contrapuntal fantasy on a simple tapestry of chords meant to evoke the suspension of time and misty lack of clear definition in the painting.

The form of the complete work represents a journey from the general to the specific and back again, in which the first and fifth movements are meant to invoke the music suggested by the pastoral nature of the paintings in question, the second and fourth movements are meant to accompany the movement of the dancers (in the case of Degas) and the artist himself (in the case of Pollock), and the third movement is meant to be a direct communication from the subject of the painting to the listener.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer


  • Abigaña, Sketches on Paintings No. 2: For Wind Ensemble [score]. World Projects Corp.: [Benicia, Calif.]
  • Brett Abigaña website – Accessed 31 August 2022