Sinfonie Concertante (No. 5)

From Wind Repertory Project
Karl Amadeus Hartmann

Karl Amadeus Hartmann

This work bears the designation No. 5.

General Info

Year: 1950
Duration: c. 20:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Trumpet and wind instruments
Publisher: Schott
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental   |   Score Only - €24.99


1. Toccata - 4:49
2. Melodie - 9:00
3. Rondo - 3:43


Full Score
Flute I-II (both doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
C Soprano Clarinet I-II
C Trumpet I-II
Trombone I-II



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Written in 1950, Symphonie Nr.5 “Concertante” uses material from a previously conceived composition, the burlesque concertino for trumpet and wind ensemble from 1931. It was premiered in Stuttgart, Germany, on April 21, 1951, at the South German Broadcasting Hall, during the Musiktage Stuttgart, with the South German Broadcasting Orchestra under Hans-Müller-Kray. The Symphonie is structured in three movements: I.Toccata “Lebhaft”; II. Melodie “Langsam”; III. Rondo “Lustig sehr lebhaft”.

Karl Amadeus Hartmann pays homage to Igor Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du Printemps in the slow-central section of his fifth symphony. The famous opening theme is first quoted by the clarinet and continued by a muted trombone and bassoon. The framing movements are characterized by the spirit of the Baroque concerto: here a variety of solo wind instruments compete with one another. Originally conceived as a concerto for solo trumpet and wind instruments, individual sections of the work took form during Hartmann’s ‘wild’ years when he was experimenting with multifarious styles.

- Program Note adapted from WASBE


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Spokane (Wash.) Symphony (Gunther Schuller, conductor) - 23 March 2007
  • Aspen (Colo.) Chamber Symphony (Asher Fisch, conductor) - 19 August 2005 *United States Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer