Sinfonia XIX: Preludes and Grounds

From Wind Repertory Project
Timothy Broege

Timothy Broege

General Info

Year: 2001
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey and Hawkes Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $75.00   |   Score Only - $12.95


1. The First Prelude & Ground
2. The Second Prelude & Ground
3. The Third Prelude & Ground
4. The Fourth Prelude & Ground


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Trumpet (in B-flat) I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Claves
  • Conga Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (Tam-Tam)
  • Maracas
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks (4)
  • Timpani
  • Tom-Toms (3)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Xylophone
  • Vibes (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Sinfonia XIX: Preludes and Grounds was commissioned by the Berwick Middle School 7th-8th Grade Band, Brian Fish, director, and was composed during December 1998 and January 1999.

Each of the four movements follows an identical structural plan: a brief prelude, based on a 12-note series, is followed by a diatonic ground bass (a repeating harmonic/melodic pattern). There should be a short pause between movements to allow just enough time for the percussionists to get to their new positions.

- Program Note by Timothy Broege


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer