Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Sinfonia (Tian)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Zhou Tian

Zhou Tian

General Info

Year: 2022
Duration: c. 19:45
Difficulty: V+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: First Edition Press
Cost: Score and Parts: Rental


1. Noir - 4:20
2. Transit - 4:00
3. Arioso - 6:20
4. D-O-N-E - 4:25


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone

Players clapping and snapping fingers


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Sinfonia seeks inspirations from cultures close to my heart and mixes them into four different movements. It begins nostalgically and ends on a hopeful, uplifting note.

  • I. Noir. Grainy films and stylized black-and-white images from the 1940s and '50s inspired this nostalgic throwback. Although it starts brightly, at its core lies the night.
  • II. Transit. New York City. Subway. Rush hour. Each stop opens to a new soundscape. “Say, did I hear jazz?” someone asks. “STAND CLEAR OF THE CLOSING DOORS, PLEASE,” New York replies.
  • III. Arioso. Shanghai. Night of the Mid-Autumn Festival. A vocalise was conceived.
  • IV. D-O-N-E. May 10, 1869. Promontory, Utah. A one-word telegraph was sent across the United States in Morse code, announcing the completion of the first transcontinental railroad. Now the country was connected as never before: a journey between San Francisco and New York that previously took up to six months now took only days. Some 150 years later, that word, “D-O-N-E,” is transformed here into music using the rhythm of the Morse code. Throughout the finale, the “done” motif is passed back and forth by numerous instruments in the orchestra. An accumulation of materials sends the piece to a climax at the end. This movement was adapted from a movement of my orchestral work “Transcend.”

Sinfonia was jointly commissioned by a CBDNA consortium consisted of the Michigan State University (Kevin Sedatole), Ball State University (Thomas E. Caneva), Baylor University (Eric Wilson), University of Colorado Boulder (Donald J. McKinney), Florida State University (Richard Clary), Indiana University (Rodney Dorsey), University of Michigan (Michael Haithcock), Ohio State University (Russel C. Mikkelson), Oklahoma State University (Joseph Missal), Purdue University Fort Wayne (Daniel Tembras), University of Texas Austin (Jerry Junkin), Texas Tech University (Sarah McKoin), and Western Michigan University (Scott Boerma). My deepest gratitude goes to Kevin Sedatole, who initiated this project, as well as to all commissioning partners. I had a blast writing this work!

- Program Note by composer


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Baylor University (Waco, Tx.) Wind Ensemble (J. Eric Wilson, conductor) – 15 September 2022
  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Wind Symphony (Kevin Sedatole, conductor) – 30 April 2022 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by this Composer