Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Silent Night, Sea of Light

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Heidi Joosten

Heidi Joosten

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: HRJ Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
C Piccolo
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-VI
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Water Glasses


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Wind Symphony, under the direction of Dr. John R. Stewart, Silent Night, Sea of Light represents the personal struggle and transition of the first time I moved away from home, comfort, family, and peace. In relocating to a large city from a very rural area, I found myself suffering from the dichotomy of the nights I was faced with: living in an area with unlimited opportunities but every square inch of space affected by artificial light at all times, or the peaceful evenings I was used to back home in a place of comfort where my personal goals and aspirations could never be fully realized. Through the struggle, I came to accept that, while I will call other places in my life “home”, my heart will always remain in Northern Wisconsin, and if I still can see the same constellations on occasion, I won’t ever be too far away.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer