Silent Canyons

From Wind Repertory Project
Nathan Daughtrey

Nathan Daughtrey

Subtitle: For Percussion Quintet

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 6:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $40.00; (digital) $40.00


Full Score
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drums (4)
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • China Cymbals
  • Conga
  • Crotales
  • Djembe
  • Log Drums (4 pitches)
  • Marimba
  • Rainstick
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Tam-tam (large)
  • Temple Blocks
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Blocks (2: high)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Silent Canyons was inspired of by the story of the Ancestral Pueblo peoples or Anasazi (a Navajo word meaning ancient ones or ancient enemies) and their disappearance from the Four Corners region of the southwestern United States in the 13th century. It seeks to follow this evolution of a civilization being built in these previously uninhabited caves, the conflicts that arose with other peoples, the disappearance of the people, and returning to the emptiness of the canyons.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the Fort Lewis College Percussion Ensemble (Durango, Colo.), Jonathan Larra, Director.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Texas: Percussion Ensemble Class 1


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Case Western Reserve University (Cleveland, Ohio) Percussion Ensemble - 7 May 2021
  • Illinois State University (Normal) Wind Symphony (Anthony C. Marinello III, conductor) - 28 February 2021
  • LIMS Percussion Ensemble (Daegu, South Korea) – August 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works