Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Shards of Glass

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Brett William Dietz

Brett William Dietz

General Info

Year: 2005 / 2007
Duration: c. 4:15
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert-Jones
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00; (digital) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Inspired by the American minimalist composer Philip Glass, this work won the 2005 National Band Association composition contest. Comprising a repetitive series of chord changes, each repetition enters with subtle changes in orchestration and introduces new contrapuntal lines and rhythmic figures. Far-reaching in scope and design, it explores new avenues of composition for the development of wind ensemble literature.

- Program Note from publisher

Shards of Glass was commissioned by the Preston Junior High School Concert Band of Loveland, Colorado. The premiere performance was given on December 9, 2005, under the direction of Andrea Hollenbeck.

- Program Note from score

Award Winners

  • Merrill Jones Young Composers Award 2005
  • National Band Association composition contest, 2005


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Brett William Dietz website Accessed 20 July 2018
  • Dietz, B. (2007). Shards of Glass [score]. Wingert-Jones Publications: Kansas City, Mo.
  • Zembower, Christian. "Shards of Glass." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 11, Compiled and edited by Richard Miles, 429-445. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2018.