From Wind Repertory Project
Isaac Albéniz

Isaac Albéniz (trans. Albert Loritz)

Subtitle: Third Movement of the Suite española no. 1, op. 47

General Info

Year: 1886 / 2011
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Advance Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €16.99


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Reflecting the folklore and traditions of Seville in Spain, this third movement of Suite Espanola #1, Op.47 features memorable motifs with noticeable fluctuations in tempo and dynamics for interest. Transcribed for an SAATB saxophone quintet, this artful arrangement brings us a snapshot of the celebration of life inherent in Spanish culture.

- Program Note from publisher

Albéniz is considered to be the father of Spanish national music per se. Incorporating rhythms and melodies typical of Spanish folk music, he succeeded in embedding folkloristic elements in virtuoso compositions for the piano.

Sevilla is the third movement of the Suite Española No. 1 for Piano, Op. 47. The final version of the suite contains eight characteristic pieces. The title of each one of them refers to a geographical region or city in Spain – including Cuba! The folkloristic and improvisational character of Sevilla results from memorable motifs with characteristic embellishments in the melody -- the imitation of other instruments (guitar, castanets, . . .) in the setting for piano, asymmetrical phrases, the unexpected appearance of new motifs, noticeable fluctuations in tempo and dynamics, unanticipated modulations, the “faulty” compositional structure (e.g. ,octave parallels between melody and bass), and especially from the rhapsody-like middle part with its virtuoso and at the same time cantabile melody in the upper part.

- Program Note from Advance Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Minnesota Twin Cities Saxophone Quartet - 11 February 2021
  • Pittsburg (Kan.) State University Wind Ensemble - 24 September 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Albéniz, I.; Loritz, A. (2011). Sevilla Third Movement on the "Suite española no. 1", op. 47 ; for Saxophone Quintet SAATB [score]. Advance Music: Rottenburg, Germany.
  • Perusal score