Selections from "Shifter"

From Wind Repertory Project
Ryan Main

Ryan Main (arr. Darren Jenkins)

Subtitle: Music from the X-Box Live Video Game

General Info

Year: 2013
Duration: c. 5:45
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert-Jones
Cost: Score and Parts - $70.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III-IV
String Bass
Percussion I-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Tom



The notes on the arranger in the score contain paragraphs relating to the incorrect individual.

Program Notes

The X-Box Live game Shifter centers around a hero who, to overcome obstacles and challenges, has the power to “shift” back and forth between opposing dimensions: fire and ice. I found the concept intriguing, and the score was thrilling to composer. This arrangement by Darren Jenkins includes three works from the score, “Prepare for War!,” “Main Title,” and “The Heart of Adventure.”

While each piece represents a different aspect of the storyline, the common thread, the opposing dimensions, is present throughout.

- Program note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • California State University, Long Beach, Concert Band (Jermie Arnold, conductor) – 2 May 2017
  • San Luis Obispo Wind Orchestra (William V. Johnson, conductor) - 28 September 2013

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.