Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Seer, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Luke Ellard

Luke Ellard

Subtitle: Concerto for Bassoon and Wind Ensemble

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 17:55
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Luke Ellard
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


1. This I Have Seen - 4:48
2. The Vision 5:34
3. The Cathedral – Cadenza - 3:00
4. The Future of My Making - 3:09


Full Score
Solo Bassoon
C Piccolo/Flute III
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Marimba
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Seer (2017) is a programmatic concerto, depicting the story of one gifted with visions of things to come. The first movement begins as the Seer, played by the bassoonist, speaks to a crowd, exclaiming the fantastic things he has seen. However, while orating, a new vision begins to emerge in his mind, one of dread, forcing the Seer to run away. Despite all efforts, he realizes that he must face the full sight of what he is seeing in his mind.

The second movement begins with stillness, as the Seer imagines events unfolding, fighting back with hope, yet ultimately sinking into defeat, wandering on. In the third movement, the Seer finds himself alone in an empty cathedral at night, at a loss, seeking guidance. From lament, to anger, to defiance, he rails against fate as a still, small voice breaks through. The echoes he hears between his cries come from Thomas Tallis’ When Shall My Sorrowful Sighing Slack, letting the Seer know his plight is heard and, somehow, not all is lost. The final movement is the Seer’s declamation that there is hope and he is ultimately the master of his own fate.

Tallis text:
When shall my sorrowful sighing slack?...
When shall my woeful wailing cease?...
When shall the mind find quiet rest?...

- Program Note from University of North Texas Wind Symphony concert program, 8 February 2018


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of North Texas (Denton) Wind Symphony (Eugene Migliaro Corporon, conductor; Luke Varland, bassoon) – 8 February 2018 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer