Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Secret Fairground/Blue Strut

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
James Rae

James Rae

Two separate compositions, Secret Fairground and Blue Strut, are packaged and purchased together. They may be performed separately.

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 1:50 and 2:30
Difficulty: II-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Universal Edition
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $62.50   |   Score Only (print) - $12.50


Full Score
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Horn in Es
Basset Horn in Es
Basset Horn in C
Bass in Es
Bass in B
Piano (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

These original compositions are from the composer's new series The Concert Band Collection. The first is a nostalgic, somewhat haunting waltz that highlights the delicate sounds of the woodwind section. Reminiscent of bygone days of vintage carousels, the piece requires sensitive playing and careful observance of articulation and dynamic indications.

The second selection, Blue Strut, provides a dramatic contrast while conveying both aggressive and laid-back moods. With a steady rock groove, the piece features bold brass statements, supportive woodwind passages, and driving percussion.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist. 75/5 (April/May 2021), 26. Print.
  • Perusal score
  • Rae, J. (2019). Secret Fairground; Blue Strut [score]. Universal Edition: Wien.